Clarity

IMGP2053

“It’s full of people; those who find solace in the night; the insomniacs and the nocturnals…”

I feel so awake.

At night I’m so creative; I can write and and think and spend hours in silence – I don’t need to speak. Everyone sleeps, the streets are empty, I can be alone. I see traffic lights burning green – they won’t turn red for hours on end. Nothing moves. Nothing makes a sound. A boy passes and looks me in the eyes without a word, then just like that I’m alone again, with nothing but the light tread of my footsteps and the wind for company.

And now I sit and look at the city so far way, glowing in the distance. It’s full of people; those who find solace in the night; the insomniacs and the nocturnals; in contemplative silence or rowdy merriment. For all those who live them in sorrow I open up my heart; I wish for them to find in their night a shard of inspiration, a moment of clarity, and idea. We are all alike despite our differences.

Humanity is beautiful in its complexity.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment